Bacon Swiss Avocado Burger with Sweet Potato Fries

Bacon Swiss Avocado Burger

I’m not sure what it is about this that makes it THE BEST BURGER I’VE EVER HAD. Perhaps it’s the flavor combination… I used portobello mushrooms as my inspiration and let the other flavors just follow the lead. A few little tricks I used were incorporating my vegetable pulp from my morning green juice into the patty mix, using a bit of meatless burger patty and a touch of liquid smoke to give it that BBQ feel of beef.

1/2 cp. Brown Rice
1/2 cp. Wild Rice
3 Baby Portobello Mushrooms chopped
1 Baby Portobello Mushroom halved + sliced
3oz. canned Black Beans
1/2 cp. Meatless Burger
1 cp. Kale, Chard, Spinach, Celery, Carrot pulp from juicer
1/2 small Shallot diced
1/4 small Red Onion diced
2 cloves Garlic chopped
light sprinkle of Soy Mozzarella Cheese
light sprinkle of Soy Parmesan Cheese
2 tb. Olive Oil
1 light splash Liquid Smoke

I sauteed the onion, shallot, garlic in a little olive oil and added salt + pepper to season.

Then I added the mushrooms and brought it all to a nice caramel color.

Threw in the meatless burger mix and made sure to crumble to avoid large chunks.

Next, I mixed in the rice. I made sure to leave the rice a little watery so the ingredients would bind together.

Next went the black beans. As I mixed them in, I made sure to smash up some of the beans to create a paste to hold the burger form.

Then, I turned off the heat. Added a dash of liquid smoke and the soy cheese. Seasoned with salt + pepper to taste.

Once the mixture had cooled a bit, I tossed in the green pulp. Using just the pulp of the greens helped a lot. I want these burgers to be moist but not fall apart.

After I had incorporated all ingredients, I placed the mixture in the fridge for about 3 hours to chill. Then when I was ready to make my burgers I formed the patties. This made about 5 large burgers. I’m sure you could make 7 small burgers.

Burgers only took a few minutes on each side to cook and get brown. I used a large skillet on the stove top with a bit of non-stick cooking spray.

I topped off my burger with carmelized red onion, soy bacon, soy swiss cheese, avocado, sprouts, tomato and lettuce.

I used a sprouted whole grain bun and buttered each side with Earth Balance spread.

It was out of this world delicious! Served up with baked sweet potato fries lightly seasoned with salt + pepper.

CHEERS!

Leave a Reply

